Art of Giving Good Text

There is power in the written word. It combines the best of the writer’s intent with the reader’s imagination. There is a certain chemistry that arises from providing enough details to make the experience vivid, but yet still leaving enough canvas for the reader to enhance it for her own fantasy. Just like in journalism where they teach you to cover the Who, What, Why, Where, and How to make a good story, there are also methods that can improve your “textual” advances.

You might be thinking that with voice now in SL, texting is outdated or old fashioned. To me, that just means you aren’t doing it right. Voice is a great compliment to texting, and another option to mix it up, but texting will always have a certain power to it if done the right way.

[Warning: These are to be used only under extreme caution. May lead to sexual acts/favors. May lead to boasting amongst your woman’s cohorts about your abilities. If used inappropriately or lightly these may result in a swarm of clingers and stalkers following your every move. As with all our advice, please use with care.]

1) Throw away any and all xcite! parts that you rely on to do any “speaking” for you. This is a great way to break in noobs, and they are providing a service for anybody who doesn’t have a keyboard attached to their computer, but otherwise these are pretty damn worthless. Unless you are doing the dishes

2) Atmosphere matters, but not as much as typos. Honestly, if you are a good texter, then you can be standing in the center of the Welcome Area (as an example of the least atmosphere on SL) and still create an incredible experience through your words. Typos are a real turn off, and in fact can kill the mood altogether. Granted as things progress you might miss a key here or there, but try to stay half-ways literate. Mistyping something like, “I stinking my ginger upp yo bass,” can really kill the moment.

3) Incorporate ALL of the five senses in a descriptive way. This one is a key point. With SL you currently have access to visual and potentially hearing (if you are in voice) as options. When initiating texting you want to be sure to hit on ALL 5. Not just touch which is the one most people probably want to jump right to as they poke, prod, squeeze, and tweak things. Visualization in your mind is key! You have to see yourself at every point, and then describe with your senses what you are experiencing.

I will even list/provide examples of each in case you don’t remember from grade school what the five senses are…

Sight

You look beautiful this evening in that dress. I love the way your hair falls softly off your shoulder. I am mesmerized by the sway of your hips as we dance.

Smell

I breathe in deeply the scent of your hair as I kiss the top of your head. Your perfume intoxicates me.

Taste

I taste your lips and your tongue, as I kiss you deeply. I can taste the salt on your skin as my lips move down your body.

Touch

I lightly caress your skin with my fingertips. I feel the swell of your breasts as I pull you in tight against me. I feel your nipple harden in my mouth.

Sound

I hear you moaning with anticipation and it urges me on faster. I whisper, I love you. I scream your name.

You literally should have a goal of using all 5 senses every time you text until it becomes ingrained automatically into your approach. Another good way to practice is to literally force yourself to move from head to toe before starting any sort of sexual act, and describe in detail every thing you are doing using all 5 senses at every point. It sounds crazy, but she will be BEGGING you by the time you enter her. (I find this to be extremely hot, so it has Hawk’s stamp of approval.)

4) One leader and one follower. By this I mean, that from my experience one of you has to be in charge of that experience. You definitely want heavy participation from both sides, but only one of you needs to be directing the action of where things are heading. Normally the initiator should be the leader. The leader is responsible for directing which way the encounter is going to go (ie location, which position, timing of when to move to the next phase.) The follower is responsible for reacting to every new initiation from the leader, and for providing the appropriate text to remove articles of clothing, or to add detail to the direction the leader is taking. Otherwise you end up with mixed texting coming through, where right at the point of going down on her, she is jumping to the Seamonkey Throwing Coconuts, and you end up with an awkward transition as one of you gives into the other.

The encounter will not always follow this pattern, but I am saying it is the preferred method. Also, there is nothing that says the guy has to always be the leader. I think in a good healthy relationship you will both be taking turns at it.

5) Pacing is critical. I am a big fan of long foreplay, but at some point you have to pay attention to your partner and move on to the next thing. Likewise, you can’t go from typing a sentence every 20 seconds to all of a sudden disappearing for 10 minutes and then come back with your “I’m CUMMMING HARD” comment. Obviously the better you know your partner, the easier it is to understand where they are at in their experience. It depends on what you want out of it. If you are only in it for you, then you will get her to a point and then go do your thing, and come back to clean up afterwards. This may meet your goals, but isn’t gonna keep your woman coming back for more. Doctor studies have shown (insert disclaimer here) that taking a break to text every minute or so will greatly decrease the incidence of carpal tunnel syndrome (yeah they were lady doc’s but shup!) The one thing for sure is that it WILL greatly improve your standing amongst the ladies, if you keep the flow going until you both finish up.

This concludes the primer course, in a future post, I will cover advanced texting techniques…

~ by hawksrock on February 2, 2008.

26 Responses to “Art of Giving Good Text”

  1. “I stinking my ginger upp yo bass” that nearly happened to me last night at the club and if you think that shit isn’t painful, you’ve got another thing coming…

  2. Sight

    You look beautiful this evening in that dress. I love the way your hair falls softly off your shoulder. I am mesmerized by the sway of your hips as we dance.

    Smell

    I breathe in deeply the scent of your hair as I kiss the top of your head. Your perfume intoxicates me.

    Taste

    I taste your lips and your tongue, as I kiss you deeply. I can taste the salt on your skin as my lips move down your body.

    Touch

    I lightly caress your skin with my fingertips. I feel the swell of your breasts as I pull you in tight against me. I feel your nipple harden in my mouth.

    Sound

    I hear you moaning with anticipation and it urges me on faster. I whisper, I love you. I scream your name.

    *sigh*

    hawksrock i think i’m in love with you ❤

  3. And this is reason #745 why I’m keeping him forever & for always. 🙂 kkthnxbai

  4. Typos and spelling mistakes, yeah…a total turn off

  5. Usually the typing errors increase as one or both of the participants nears orgasm, so who minds typos? 😛

  6. And fyi, I knows for a fact Jelly carries a loaded weapon. Just saying that for the welfare of those who might not be otherwise informed…

  7. Any chatspeak is also a HUGE turn off! I don’t want to see “ur butt iz so soft. u no i wanna touch it. lol ^.^” I would SO just get up and leave at that point.

  8. Thank you thank you thank you! Guys, are you listening? 😉

  9. Although I’ve moved beyond text into the realm of voice when it comes to intimate moments with my partner, I certainly appreciate this masterful, and seemingly effortless, approach to one of the ‘net’s most pleasurable pursuits. Well done, good sir. 😉

  10. WOOHOOT! Yay, for texting and you are sooo right about using all senses :)) *giggles* I am still gratefull to that hot Brasilian that started smelling my neck on the dancefloor when I was a noob – you can guess where that ended – as it has saved me from any expenses on xCite stuff till now :)))
    Another good point about texting: it can be so wonderfully slow :)))

  11. hawks…the women of second life thank you for your public service. again i have to say this should be required reading at orientation island.

  12. I tried to help a noob out by getting him tweaked to look like a actual man and ya know learn how to emote… He supposedly is a musician RL & he may have been a useful in SL… But he didn’t understand ‘I got all the sluts I need now’ & I was all like ewww…

  13. Oh… & sometimes it’s totally ok to laugh during virtual or even real sex… Though it can hurt if you laugh to hard right about the same time you cum… >_>

  14. @theshadow: Laughing in general is always a good thing, as long as you aren’t laughing EVERY time you have sex, cuz that might begin to create “other” issues… I dunno that I have ever had the experience of laughing as I cum… but the thought of that hurting is kinda… 😮

  15. Oh my, i can’t agree enough in long foreplays and slowly been teased up. Men who’s newer had a woman begging for more, miss so much………..I always hope and hint that a man can switch from romantic lover and into a bit more agressive and right-on when it comes to “point of no return”. I love it in RL too…..long warm-up and then when I’m just a shivering mass of lust…….Mr. Caveman takes a step out and finish off the job. (Suddenly I shift uneasy, slightly embarassed to the fact that I’m talking about sex before 9 AM……..and that it starts to feel good)

  16. Bravo for putting slex tips on proverbial paper.
    Impressive blog. And I’m not easily impressed. Would you care for a link from my blog? http://cindykesey.wordpress.com.

  17. Cindy, we welcome anyone who wants to add us as a link in whatever form on your respective blog… the more the merrier. Thanks!

  18. Yikes! So great! I am looking for a way to tattoo all of your PERFECT guidelines on my lover’s palm for quick and easy reference.
    My SL life will become even more like heaven if he would! Thank you and keep it up! In whatever way you wish!

  19. Yikes! So great! I am looking for a way to tattoo all of your PERFECT guidelines on my lover’s palm for quick and easy reference.
    My SL life will become even more like heaven if he would! Thank you and keep it up! In whatever way you wish!

  20. Hawksrock: Care to reciprocate?

  21. […]  A recent post, Cybersex Reading List, is a great example. I especially enjoyed reading the Art of Giving Good Text, which was posted by Are We Not Men? I was very concerned, however, about the comments on spelling […]

  22. @cindy.. no we aren’t into cross marketing. As you can see we have a very tight blogroll listed… to our personal blogs and our competition. If you would like to still list us that is great, if not, that is fine too.

  23. hmmm, I really wasn’t thinking about it as crossmarketing. That seems so gauche. I understand your position, however.

  24. […] so you can’t sit backwards on them. You’ll usually face the right direction. Also read this post: Art of Giving Good Text Are we not men? __________________ Daman in […]

  25. Brilliant post. Damn good read – well written, well thought-out, just yay. Also, funneh. I’ve only just discovered your blog but have no doubt I will become a fan of it ^^

  26. […] to read more? Then excuse my laziness and have a look at other posts about this, like  the art of giving good text or the last series at Land’s Intersection; I will be back soon (mmm… is next week soon […]

Leave a comment